Lifelong Learning
The new Lifelong Learning programme enables individuals at all stages of their lives to pursue stimulating learning opportunities across Europe. It consists of four sub-programmes:
  • Comenius (for schools)
  • Erasmus (for higher education)
  • Leonardo da Vinci (for vocational education and training) and
  • Grundtvig (for adult education).
A transversal programmecomplements these four sub-programmes in order to ensure that they achieve the best results. Four key activities focus on policy co-operation, languages, information and communication technologies, effective dissemination and exploitation of project results.
Finally, the Jean Monnet programme stimulates teaching, reflection and debate on the European integration process at higher education institutions worldwide.
Quantified targets have been set for the program:
  • Comenius should involve at least three million pupils in joint educational activities, over the period of the programme
  • Erasmus should reach the total of three million individual participants in student mobility actions since the programme began.
  • Leonardo da Vinci should increase placements in enterprises to 80,000 per year by the end of the programme
  • Grundtvig should support the mobility of 7,000 individuals involved in adult education per year by 2013